On The Road Less Travelled

As you might know, I have been trying to blog every day through Lent. It has been a good practice to be in, though I’ve found it more rigorous than I initially thought it would be. It’s hard knowing what to write on a daily basis.

So I’m introducing “A-muse-ing Mondays”, but I need your help to make it effective. Throughout the week, I invite you to visit my facebook page (check it out on the right if you need help finding it), like it if you don’t already, and then leave me a comment with a potential title for a post, and two nouns (that don’t necessarily have anything to do with the title you suggest). I promise to choose one suggestion and write a post about God incorporating both the title and the nouns. (example here)

The wackier the better. 

Here’s this week’s post.

Christine chose the title and the subject matter for this post. The subjects she gave me were “gates” and “gurus”.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel  both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other just as fair
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

~Robert Frost

Life is an uncertain journey. It always has been, and it always will be.

Any journey consists of twists, bends, and forks in the road…and each of us is left to choose our path the best we can.

History is a trusted guide along life’s journey, though its footprints lead to messy places.

And Christ guides us into messier places still.

Wide is the path that leads to destruction, and many feet have worn it smooth, while narrow is the way, and the truth, and the life that beckons to all yet so few choose.

For He (that is, the Christ), is the gate swung open wide. More than a guru or a guide; He is the path that leads to life.

And that has made all the difference.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

