The Question

ImageThe fundamental question posed by our human experience echoes yet from the cross of Christ.

We might wish for clarity, or certainty, or even a hint that the dark night might soon be over.  Indeed, much “Christian” work has been done to ensure that the safety net of the resurrection always lies within earshot of anything smacking of death, or injustice, or oppression, or crucifixion.

But the true dereliction of Christ’s cry has not been muted.  

Forgotten, perhaps.  

Ignored, most certainly.

But our broken, jagged shards of dreams continue to utter this primal cry.  

Will you join me in exploring it this season?  

“My God, My God, Why have you forsaken me?”  

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Question

  1. Laura says:

    One night last week when I couldn’t sleep I started saying that phrase “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?” over and over again. And as I was playing around with saying it I noticed that the meaning changes depending on which word you emphasize. Do you emphasize “My” or “God” or “Why”, “you”, “forsaken” or “me”. I think my temptation is to emphasize the “me,” Why is it me that is forsaken? But if I emphasize instead that My God is the one who has forsaken, it becomes slightly less self-centered and perhaps slightly more an encouragement to self-sacrifice. For whatever that’s worth. Just some thoughts this morning. Great stuff here!

Leave a Reply

