Plastic Faith

In my last post, I talked about a Fisher Price telescope from my childhood.  It was one of my favorite toys, because you could look through the ‘wrong’ end, and extend the tube, making the world shrink right before your very eye(s).

My thought for today is whether faith isn’t like that telescope.  Depending on how you use it, it either brings the world into sharp focus and makes everything appear larger-than-life, or in the same way it serves as a buffer, comfortably removing us even further from the reality of our surroundings.

The longer I live, the more I tend to think we are all just children anyway; pretending at this playground of life, doing the best we can with the toys we’ve inherited or found discarded by the wayside.

This is the season of Lent.  I can’t help but wonder what would happen if the True God strolled onto our playground and found us all sitting around with our Fisher Price telescopes.  Isn’t that question what Advent and Lent are truly about?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

