Dear Virginia

Dear Virginia,

First, let me say I love you.  From the first time I laid eyes on you, I knew you’d have a special place in my heart–always.

None of that has changed.  You will always be special to me, and I will always love you.  When I took my first timid steps into adulthood and all it’s responsibilities, you were there.  Through thick and thin, my first jobs after college, even through grad school–you were there with me.  I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it hadn’t been for you.

Virginia, I have a lot to thank you for.  I know I never treated you as well as you treated me, and for that I’m sorry.  But you always seemed to handle it well.

Nothing will ever change the way I feel about you, Virginia.  But you have to find a way to move on.

What we had was great–but I’m in a much different place now.  I’ve moved on, Virginia, and so should you.  I’ve moved on, and I’m happy with my life.  It’s not you, it’s me.  Please, just  let me go!

You’re beautiful, Virginia!  There’s no sense in clinging to me so tightly.  It’s been 3 years since we were together, so take a hint and just let me go!  I beg you!  I won’t think any less of you for just making a clean break and getting on with your life.  You deserve it.  We both do.  We’ll both be fine, and you’ll be better for it, I promise.

So please, Virginia, just tell your DMV to let me go.  I hate to think you’d put  a price on what we had–it seems to cheapen it.  But if you insist on dragging this on I guess I have no choice.  I wish we could have ended better, without putting a price on the love we shared.  Butt if you insist, and if my $85 will help you to find the closure you need, then it’s a small price to pay.  The fires of love indeed grow cold when untended for 3 years–but still I wish it didn’t have to come to this!

Virginia!  This nasty lovers quarrel could so easily have been avoided.  I’ve always been just a phone call, a letter, an email away.  Why did I have to find out about this grudge of yours through another?  Were you so jealous, that you had to communicate through Ohio?  I thought you and I were on better terms than that, Virginia!  I do wish you could let bygones be bygones and remember what we had instead of what you hoped for.

But, Virginia, if my money is what you want, then it’s my money that you’ll get.  What I have with Ohio can’t be purchased…our relationship is stronger than that.  So take my $85 and may it give you what you need to move on, o jealous lover!  I do hope this is the last I hear from you (or at least from your DMV).

With all love, affection, and a deep sense of sadness (not to mention a curious sense of relief)

Patrick

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear Virginia

  1. connie says:

    Pat, you are so creative! Knowing the circumstances, this just made me laugh and laugh. Thanks! 🙂

    • nafzigpa says:

      connie, did you guys have a similar experience? It sure is nice to be where you don’t need inspection (although it did keep you on top of some car maintenance things).

Leave a Reply

